LIFF 2014

London Independent Film Festival 2014

The London Independent Film Festival wraps 11th season and announces 2014 Awards

The 11th London Independent Film Festival announced its awards today, concluding an 11-day festival which showcased the best of low-budget filmmaking from the UK and abroad.

American filmmakers Bradley King and BP Cooper won the festival’s Best International Film for their time travel thriller TIME LAPSE.  The movie sees three friends discover a machine that takes pictures 24hrs into the future.

Directors Jack Wylson and James Dartnal took the Best UK Film Award for their feature documentary  MAHOUT: THE GREAT ELEPHANT WALK. The film follows a team of elephant drivers as they walk a group of elephants across Nepal.

Actress Danielle Panabaker won the festival’s Best Actor/Actress award for her lead role in TIME LAPSE.

British filmmaker Nick Pilton took the LIFF’s Best Director for his second feature INTERFERENCE.  Jason Attar and Danny Wimborne won Best Comedy for the mockumenary ONE NIGHT IN POWDER.  Simon Pearce won BEST HORROR film for the supernatural thriller JUDAS GHOST.  Faith Millen took Best UK Documentary her film about London’s pirate radio culture DROWNED CITY .

Reggie Yates won Best UK Short Film for his debut DATE NIGHT. Jane Mingay won Best Short Documentary for PORTRAIT OF BILLIE.  Best Screenplay awards went out to Raymond Just for THE CRIMSON CONFESSION and Robert Kerr for THE REPUBLIC OF FRESTONIA.

Festival Director Erich Schultz said: “Another year of absolutely amazing low-budget films from around the world. Fantastic self-financed films made on shoe-string budgets demonstrating pure talent. I’m certain we’ll be seeing many great things from these filmmakers in the very near future”

Hosted at annually at the Shortwave Cinema near London Bridge, the 2014 London Independent Film Festival screened more than 120 films over two weeks. The festival highlights the best in low & micro-budget filmmaking every April and has been called: “A treasure trove of undiscovered cinematic gem and one of Europe’s top indie film fests” (British Film Magazine).

Full information about the festival and press photos can be found at: ‎

A full list of LIFF winners:

Best Film (UK): Jack Wylson & James Dartnal for Mahout: The Great Elephant Walk

Best Film (International): Bradley King & BP Cooper for Time Lapse

Best Director: Nick Pilton for Interference

Best Comedy Film: Jason Attar & Danny Wimborne for One Night in Powder

Best Horror Feature: Simon Pearce for Judas Ghost

Best Documentary (UK): Faith Millin for Drowned City

Best No-Budget Feature: Henry Scriven for How to become a Criminal Mastermind

Best Micro-Budget Film: Jason Attar & Danny Wimborne for One Night in Powder

Best Actor/Actress: Danielle Panabaker for Time Lapse

Best Short Film (UK): Reggie Yates for Date Night

Audience Award for Best Short Film: Adam Morse for The Window

Best Short Film (International): Charline Branger for Bye-Bye Star-Fizz

Best Short Documentary: Jane Mingay for Portrait of Billie

Best Sci-Fi/Horror Short Film: Left Hand Billy In The Second Solution dir. Gabriele Zuccarini

Best Music Video (UK): Ed Edwards for Anarchy in the UK

Best Music Video (International): Maida Hals for Violence Done Well

Best LGBT Film: Wollie Boehm Cat Sitting

Best Short Short: Chris Chung for Handuken

Best Animated Short: Raymond Butler for Video Shop

Best Experimental Short: Alexandra Anikina for Some Entropy In Your Tea

Best Screenplay (International): Raymond Just for The Crimson Confession

Best Screenplay (UK): Robert Kerr for The Republic of Frestonia

Best Sci-Fi Screenplay: Raymond Just for The Crimson Confession

Best Short Screenplay: Melina von Hünefeld for Matryoshka

Best Screenplay Pitch: Rangula Assad for Mint Tea